Part 2 Articles of the Constitution



Article 7: Regulatory Bodies, Committees, Panels and Working Groups

7.1 Regulatory Bodies

The Council will appoint the following bodies:

Development Management Committee

Number of councillors: to be determined each year at the annual meeting of Council

Licensing Committee

Number of councillors: 12

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme in Part 3.

7.2 Standing Committees

The Council will appoint the following standing Committees and Panels:

Audit Committee

Number of councillors: 5

Community Life & Housing Scrutiny Panel Number of councillors: 12

Corporate Performance and Resources Scrutiny Panel Number of councillors: 8

Council Tax Setting Panel

Number of councillors: 4

Economy and Environment Scrutiny Panel

Number of councillors: 12

Salcombe Harbour Board

Number of members: Up to10 (made up of four district councillors and six coopted members).

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme in Part 3.

7.3 Other Bodies

The Council will appoint Members to the following bodies:

Asset Management Group

Number of councillors: 1. Number of officer representatives: 8

Design Review Panel

Number of councillors: 3. Number of officer representatives: 6. Architects: 3 Local town and parish councils: 2

Devon Building Control Partnership

Number of councillors: 2 from South Hams DC, 2 from Teignbridge DC and 2 from West Devon BC.

Joint Staff Consultative Forum

Number of councillors: 3. Number of staff representatives: 19

Political Structures Working Group

Number of councillors: 8

Programming Panel

Number of councillors: 5, being the Chairman of the Executive, the Chairman of each of the 3 Scrutiny Panels and the Vice-Chairman of the Corporate Performance and Resources Scrutiny Panel

Public Spaces Working Group

Number of councillors: 4

Shared Services Joint Steering Group

Number of councillors: 3 from South Hams DC, 3 from West Devon Borough Council

Slapton Line Steering Group

Number of councillors: 2

Strategic Planning Working Group

Number of councillors: 6

T18 Steering Group

Number of councillors: 16 (8 Executive Members at South Hams District Council, 8 Chairs and Vice-Chairs at West Devon Borough Council)

These bodies will discharge the functions described in the Delegation Scheme Part 3.